White Bodies - By Jane Roberts

Rating: 4/5 Beans
Publisher: TouchStone Books
Author: Jane Robins

Hey book beans! Before we dive into this review let me give you the summary:

A chilling psychological suspense novel in the vein of The Girl On The Train and Sharp Objects that explores the darkly disturbing side of love and the unbreakable ties that bind two sisters together.

Felix and Tilda seem like the perfect couple, young and in love, he a wealthy financier and she an up-and-coming starlet. But behind their flawless facade not everything is as it seems. Callie, Tilda’s unassuming twin, has watched her beautiful sister and idol visibly shrink under Felix’s domineering love. Tilda has stopped working and nearly stopped eating, and her apartment has suddenly becoming freakishly tidy-with mugs encased in Saran Wrap and suspicious syringes hidden in the bathroom trash. Callie knows about Felix’s uncontrollable rages and has seen the bruises on the white skin of her sister’s arms. 

Worried about the psychological hold Felix has over her sister, Callie seeks help on an internet support group for victims of abuse and their friends. But things spiral out of control when one of her new internet acquaintances is killed. And then the unimaginable happens: Felix dies. Or was he murdered?

A page-tuning work of suspense that announces a stunning new voice in the genre, White Bodies will change the way you think about obsession, love and the violence we inflict on one another and ourselves.

White Bodies keeps you guessing til the very end, and even when you think you just might have the who done it nailed down, Jane Roberts has a way of taking you through the narrative in a nail biting, can’t but the book down type of way. So that even when you think you're on the right track, the vivid writing keeps you turning the pages. 

Roberts does a great job of making her characters seem so real and colorful. So much so that you can't read White Bodies without wondering about what makes them all tick. Roberts satisfies that craving by flashing back to Callie and Tilda’s past in the first third of the book, helping us to make sense of their co-dependent, abnormal, and often obsessive relationship as siblings.  And let me tell you, things get WEIRD. 

Right away we are sucked into a crazy story of obsessive behavior and narcissism told from Callie’s point of view, the less popular twin. I was hooked from the very first page and while I finished this book in a few days, White Bodies could easily be read in one sitting.  Jane Roberts has a unique way of describing her characters, so much so that I could easily see this thriller as a film (David Fincher would be perfect). The only thing I didn’t quite like about White Bodies, is that instead of picking up speed at the end, the story had the tendency to slow down a bit. Therefore, the ending didn’t pack as much of a punch as I would’ve liked.

Of course, that’s just personal opinion! And regardless of pacing, I have extremely high praise for White Bodies. I predict that it will be next year’s go to beach read. 

White Bodies releases September 2017 from Touchstone Books. You can pre-order your copy here!

*All opinions are my own