The Blinds by Adam Sternbergh

My Rating: 3.5/5
Author: Adam Sternbergh
Pub Date: August 1st
Publisher: ECCO BOOKS

Synopsis:

For fans of Cormac McCarthy, Jim Thompson, the Coen Brothers, and Lost

Imagine a place populated by criminals—people plucked from their lives, with their memories altered, who’ve been granted new identities and a second chance. Welcome to The Blinds, a dusty town in rural Texas populated by misfits who don’t know if they’ve perpetrated a crime or just witnessed one. What’s clear to them is that if they leave, they will end up dead.

For eight years, Sheriff Calvin Cooper has kept an uneasy peace—but after a suicide and a murder in quick succession, the town’s residents revolt. Cooper has his own secrets to protect, so when his new deputy starts digging, he needs to keep one step ahead of her—and the mysterious outsiders who threaten to tear the whole place down. The more he learns, the more the hard truth is revealed: The Blinds is no sleepy hideaway. It’s simmering with violence and deception, aching heartbreak and dark betrayals.

I chose The Blinds as my selection for my Book of The Month. It sounded so intriguing! I adore Cormac Mccarthy and the Coen Brothers, so my expectations were extremely high. I've read at least 5 great books in a row recently, and I'm sad to say that this is where the streak ends. The Blinds had great potential, but it cracked in areas where it could've easily shined. I buddy read this selection along with Cici from @therusticwindow and Abeer from @lookingforabura and well all felt the same way. So much potential, but unfortunately it was presented in the wrong way.

So what didn't I like about The Blinds?

I felt that the story itself was too fragmented. The Blinds mirrored a 3 hour long movie that refused to chop out the mundane pieces. if they don't help move the story forward and they don't provide context for the world, why keep it in?  This book could've done without a lot of the excess material and been just fine. Trim trim trim, and always ask yourself, do these chapters help me tell the story and move it forward? But instead it dragged on, and made it quite hard for me to finish. If I hadn't been buddy reading it with my good friends I probably would've DNF'd it. 

However, I loved several of the main characters. They had spunk and determination. This book would do so well as a Netflix series. 

If you don't mind fragmented story telling, and you're up for a unique plot. Why not give The Blinds a try!?

Patience E. RandleComment